Elke Ferris Service Award

About the Award


Each year, UEP honors an industry professional with the Elke Ferris Service Award. This award is named in honor of Elke Ferris, CMP, and recognizes esteemed UEP members, like Elke, who have made significant contributions to the awareness, professionalism and growth of the meetings and event industry. Recipients of this award have served in a leadership capacity and given their time and resources to UEP. It is a tradition that a UEP member receives this award at the Annual Education Conference.
Please note that in 2014, due to the extensive efforts required on behalf of the organization to become independent of the University of Michigan, this awards program was temporarily suspended. It is expected to return in 2015.  

About Elke K. Ferris


It was Elke’s German heritage that drew her to the German settlement of Ann Arbor more than 40 years ago. During that time, she has raised a family, worked in a variety of professional positions, and tirelessly volunteered on behalf of many organizations. These include the Ann Arbor Civic Theater, the Arbor Opera Theater, the Mayor’s Hospitality Committee for International Programs, and the March of Dimes. Elke has also served as a guest instructor at Washtenaw Community College where she taught hospitality, sales, and marketing.


In 1983, Elke joined the Ann Arbor Area Convention and Visitors Bureau (AAACVB) and became a founding member of University Event Planners (UEP). As key accounts director at AAACVB, she has provided support, communication, and coordination services to the Bureau’s largest groups. She became a Certified Meeting Professional (CMP) in 2001. Following retirement from the Bureau in 2008, Elke launched her own business, EKF Project Management, LLC.


Her proudest professional achievement has been working with the growing group of remarkable University Event Planners and members of the hospitality community to ensure successful meetings and conferences worldwide. In 2006, UEP recognized Elke’s contributions and service by presenting her with the Elke Ferris Exemplary Service Award, an award that is now given annually to a deserving UEP member. 



Nomination Process


Email the selection committee a 250-300 word explanation of why you would like to nominate the individual. Please include contact information (name, company, title, address and phone or email) for your nominee.



Past Winners


2016 - Katherine Weathers

2012 - Jan Davies McDermott

2011 - Carol Williams

2010 - Dana Orlando

2009 - Sara Schwartz



Follow us on Twitter @UEventPlanners

Like us on Facebook 


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software